Archive for the ‘Awards’ Category

Hanzhi Zhu Receives Robert M. Golden Medal

Hanzhi Zhu has received the Robert M. Golden Medal for Excellence in Humanities and Creative Arts for his senior honors thesis “Case, Agreement, and the EPP: Evidence from Kazakh”.

Congratulations, Hanzhi!

Isla Flores-Bayer wins DARE Fellowship

News has just been received from the Office of the Vice Provost for Graduate Education (Patricia Gumport) that Linguistics graduate student Isla Flores-Bayer has been awarded a prestigious Diversifying Academia, Recruiting Excellence (DARE) Doctoral Fellowship from Stanford University. She was selected from a competitive field of nearly 100 applicants from seven schools and 40 departments. The fellowship, intended to help students prepare for successful faculty careers, and to use diversity as a resource in education, will provide tuition and living expenses for two years. Celebratory events (a kickoff lunch and new fellows dinner) for this year’s DARE cohort were held on June 4.

Congrats, and sesquikudos, Isla!

Dan Jurafsky to be Charles Fillmore Professor at LSA 2015

Dan Jurafsky has been approved as the Charles Fillmore Professor at the 2015 Institute, pursuant to terms of the generous bequest made by our late colleague’s widow, Lily Wong Fillmore. He will be the inaugural holder of the position.

Congratulations, Dan!

More news and accomplishments by Stanford linguists!

Vera Gribanova has received a Stanford Humanities Center Internal Faculty Fellowship for 2014-15.

Tim Dozat will be doing an internship at Alphasense this summer.

A number of our graduate students have received fellowships recently:

  • Isla Flores-Bayer has been awarded a Diversifying Academia, Recruiting Excellence (DARE) Doctoral Fellowship from the Vice Provost for Graduate Education.
  • Sam Bowman has been awarded a Stanford Interdisciplinary Graduate Fellowship (SIGF), also from the Vice Provost for Graduate Education..
  • Both Seung Kyung Kim and Tania Rojas-Esponda received Mellon Fellowships.
  • Seung Kyung has also received a DDRO grant from VPGE.
  • Sharese King has also received a department fieldwork grant to do work for her QP2 in Bakersfield, building on the earlier Voices of CA visit there.

Congrats to you all!

Grad student summer news

Kate Lindsey and incoming student Ignacio Cases Martin have both received the new H&S funding available for summer intensive language instruction.

  • Kate will use her funding to attend the Haval Summer Camp, a Chuvash immersion program, in Chuvashia; she will follow that with fieldwork on Chuvash supported by a department fieldwork grant.
  • Ignacio will use his funding to study Ch’orti7 at the Fundación Proyecto Lingüístico Francisco Marroquín (PLFM), La Antigua, Guatemala.

Incoming grad student Zachary Wilkins is spending the summer in Paraguay studying Guarani with a FLAS Fellowship.

Alex Djalali and Lelia Glass will be summer interns in Nuance Communication’s NLU Lab.

Sam Bowman will be a summer intern at Google.

Sesquikudos to each of you!

Linguistics Majors Elected Phi Beta Kappa

Sesquikudos to four of our Linguistics undergraduates, who were each elected to Phi Beta Kappa:

  • Ben Lokshin
  • Julia Fine
  • Gun Ho Lee
  • Cameron Jeffers


Roey Gafter received Israeli Institute Postdoc Fellowship

Roey Gafter has accepted an Israel Institute Postdoctoral Fellowship, which he can take to any university he chooses. He will likely spend the next year at the University of Tel Aviv.

Congrats Roey, and Sesquikudos!

Isla Flores-Bayer Receives DDRO Grant

Isla Flores-Bayer has accepted a DDRO Grant from the Vice Provost of Graduate Education.

Congratulations, Isla!